Countries & Nations

Explore Countries and Nations

Learn about telecommunications around the world. R-Spectrum has compiled extensive resources on companies, mobile networks, and regulatory information on almost every country in the world.

The global telecommunications industry is predominantly regulated by the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), a specialised agency of the United Nations. The ITU is tasked with facilitating international communication through the development of technical standards. The ITU tracks and benchmarks the progress of countries and promotes development in underserved communities worldwide.

It's important to note that R-Spectrum compiles research on a range of sovereign and disputed territories regardless of their geopolitical status. We endeavour to remain an impartial observer and defer to international guidance where possible.

Woman at airport travelling to countries
Belarus (Беларусь), officially the Republic of Belarus, is a landlocked country in Eastern Europe bordered by Russia to the northeast, Ukraine to the south, Poland to the west, and Lithuania and Latvia to the northwest.
Policy Maker: Ministry of Communications and Informatization
Spectrum Regulator: Republican Unitary Enterprise of supervision for Telecommunications BelGIE
Belgium, officially the Kingdom of Belgium, is a sovereign state in Western Europe bordered by France, the Netherlands, Germany, Luxembourg, and the North Sea.
Policy Maker: SPF Economie, P.M.E., Classes moyennes et Energie
Spectrum Regulator: Institut belge des services postaux et des télécommunications IBPT
Belize, formerly British Honduras, is an independent country on the eastern coast of Central America. Belize is bordered on the north by Mexico, on the south and west by Guatemala, and on the east by the Caribbean Sea.
Policy Maker: Ministry of Finance, Public Service, Energy & Public Utilities
Spectrum Regulator: Public Utilities Commission PUC
Benin, officially the Republic of Benin, and formerly Dahomey, is a country in West Africa. It is bordered by Togo to the west, Nigeria to the east, and Burkina Faso and Niger to the north.
Policy Maker: Autorité de Régulation des Communications Electroniques et de la Poste ARCEP-BENIN
Spectrum Regulator: Haute Autorité de l'Audiovisuel et de la Communication
Bermuda is a British Overseas Territory in the North Atlantic Ocean. It is approximately 1,070 km east-southeast of Cape Hatteras, North Carolina; 1,236 km south of Cape Sable Island, Nova Scotia; and 1,578 km north of Puerto Rico.
Policy Maker: Department for Culture, Media and Sport DCMS
Spectrum Regulator: Regulatory Authority of Bermuda
Bhutan (འབྲུག་ཡུལ་), officially the Kingdom of Bhutan, is a landlocked country in South Asia. Located in the Eastern Himalayas, it is bordered by Tibet Autonomous Region in the north, India in the south, the Sikkim state of India and the Chumbi Valley of Tibet in the west, and Arunachal Pradesh state of India in the east.
Policy Maker: Ministry of Information and Communications MoIC
Spectrum Regulator: Bhutan InfoComm and Media Authority BICMA
Bolivia, officially known as the Plurinational State of Bolivia, is a landlocked country located in western-central South America. It is bordered to the north and east by Brazil, to the southeast by Paraguay, to the south by Argentina, to the southwest by Chile, and to the northwest by Peru.
Policy Maker: Ministerio de Obras Públicas, Servicios y Vivienda
Spectrum Regulator: Autoridad de Regulación y Fiscalización de Telecomunicaciones y Transportes ATT
Bonaire is an island in the Leeward Antilles in the Caribbean Sea. Together with Aruba and Curaçao, it forms the group known as the ABC islands or Caribbean Netherlands, less than a hundred miles off the north coast of South America near the western part of Venezuela.
Policy Maker: Bureau Telecommunicatie & Post
Spectrum Regulator: Agentschap Telecom
Bosnia and Herzegovina (Bosna i Hercegovina (BiH) / Боснa и Херцеговина (БиХ), is a country in Southeastern Europe located on the Balkan Peninsula. Sarajevo is the capital and largest city. Bordered by Croatia to the north, and west; Serbia to the east; Montenegro to the southeast; and the Adriatic Sea to the south.
Policy Maker: Bosnian Ministry of Communications and Transport
Spectrum Regulator: Regulatorna agencija za komunikacije RAK
Botswana, officially the Republic of Botswana, is a landlocked country located in Southern Africa.
Policy Maker: Botswana Ministry of Transport and Communications
Spectrum Regulator: Botswana Communications Regulatory Authority BOCRA
Brazil (Brasil), officially the Federative Republic of Brazil, is the largest country in both South America and Latin America.
Policy Maker: Ministry of Science, Technology, Innovation and Communications
Spectrum Regulator: Agência Nacional de Telecomunicações - ANATEL
The British Indian Ocean Territory is a militarised atoll located in the Indian Ocean, halfway between Tanzania and Indonesia.
Policy Maker: Department for Culture, Media and Sport DCMS
Spectrum Regulator: Office of Communications - Ofcom
The British Virgin Islands (BVI), officially simply "Virgin Islands", are a British Overseas Territory in the Caribbean, to the east of Puerto Rico.
Policy Maker: Department for Culture, Media and Sport DCMS
Spectrum Regulator: Telecommunications Regulatory Commission TRC
Brunei is a sovereign state located on the north coast of the island of Borneo in Southeast Asia. Apart from its coastline with the South China Sea, the country is completely surrounded by the Malaysian state of Sarawak.
Policy Maker: Brunei Ministry of Communications
Spectrum Regulator: Authority for Info-communications Technology Industry of Brunei Darussalam AITI
Bulgaria (България) is a country in southeastern Europe. It is bordered by Romania to the north, Serbia and Macedonia to the west, Greece and Turkey to the south, and the Black Sea to the east.
Policy Maker: Ministry of Transport, Information Technology and Communications
Spectrum Regulator: Communications Regulation Commission CRC
Burkina Faso is a landlocked country in West Africa. It is surrounded by six countries: Mali to the north; Niger to the east; Benin to the southeast; Togo and Ghana to the south; and Ivory Coast to the southwest.
Policy Maker: Ministère du Développement de l'Economie numérique et des Postes
Spectrum Regulator: Autorité de Régulation des Communications électroniques et des Postes ARCEP
Burundi, officially the Republic of Burundi, is a landlocked country in the African Great Lakes region of East Africa, bordered by Rwanda to the north, Tanzania to the east and south, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west.
Policy Maker: Ministère des Postes, des Technologies de l'Information, de la Communication et des Médias
Spectrum Regulator: Agence de Régulation et de Contrôle des Télécommunications ARCT
Cambodia (កម្ពុជា), officially known as the Kingdom of Cambodia, is a country located in the southern portion of the Indochina Peninsula in Southeast Asia.
Policy Maker: Ministry of Posts and Telecommunications of Cambodia MPTC
Spectrum Regulator: Telecommunication Regulator of Cambodia TRC
Cameroon is a country in West Africa. It is bordered by Nigeria to the west; Chad to the northeast; the Central African Republic to the east; and Equatorial Guinea, Gabon and the Republic of the Congo to the south.
Policy Maker: Ministère des Postes et Télécommunications
Spectrum Regulator: Agence de Régulation des Télécommunications ART
Canada is a country in the northern part of North America. Its ten provinces and three territories extend from the Atlantic to the Pacific and northward into the Arctic Ocean.
Policy Maker: Telecommunications and Internet Policy Branch
Spectrum Regulator: Canadian Radio-Television and Telecommunications Commission