Countries & Nations

Explore Countries and Nations

Learn about telecommunications around the world. R-Spectrum has compiled extensive resources on companies, mobile networks, and regulatory information on almost every country in the world.

The global telecommunications industry is predominantly regulated by the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), a specialised agency of the United Nations. The ITU is tasked with facilitating international communication through the development of technical standards. The ITU tracks and benchmarks the progress of countries and promotes development in underserved communities worldwide.

It's important to note that R-Spectrum compiles research on a range of sovereign and disputed territories regardless of their geopolitical status. We endeavour to remain an impartial observer and defer to international guidance where possible.

Woman at airport travelling to countries
South Sudan is a landlocked country in East-Central Africa that gained its independence from Sudan in 2011. South Sudan is bordered by Sudan to the north, Ethiopia to the east, Kenya to the southeast, Uganda to the south, the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the southwest, and the Central African Republic to the west.
Policy Maker: Ministry of Information, Communication Technology and Postal Services
Spectrum Regulator: National Communications Authority South Sudan NCA
Spain is a sovereign state located on the Iberian Peninsula in southwestern Europe, with two large archipelagoes, the Balearic Islands in the Mediterranean Sea and the Canary Islands off the North African Atlantic coast, two cities (exclaves), Ceuta and Melilla in the North African mainland, and several small islands in the Alboran Sea near the Moroccan coast.
Policy Maker: Secretaría de Estado para la Sociedad de la Información y la Agenda Digital
Spectrum Regulator: Comisión Nacional de los Mercados y la Competencia CNMC
Sri Lanka is an island country located southeast of India and northeast of the Maldives.
Policy Maker: Ministry of Telecommunication and Digital Infrastructure Sri Lanka
Spectrum Regulator: Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka
The Sudan is a country in Northern Africa. It is bordered by Egypt to the north, Eritrea and Ethiopia to the east, South Sudan to the south, the Central African Republic to the southwest, Chad to the west, and Libya to the northwest.
Policy Maker: Ministry of Communications & Information Technology Sudan
Spectrum Regulator: National Telecommunications Corporation Sudan NTC
Suriname is a sovereign state on the northeastern Atlantic coast of South America. It is bordered by French Guiana to the east, Guyana to the west, and Brazil to the south.
Policy Maker: Ministry of Public Works, Transport and Communication Suriname
Spectrum Regulator: Telecommunications Authority Suriname TAS
Sweden (Sverige), officially the Kingdom of Sweden, is a Scandinavian country in Northern Europe. It borders Norway to the west and north and Finland to the east, and is connected to Denmark in the southwest by a bridge-tunnel across the Öresund. To the west is the Scandinavian mountain chain (Skanderna) that separates the country from Norway.
Policy Maker: Ministry of Enterprise and Innovation
Spectrum Regulator: Swedish Post and Telecom Authority PTS
Switzerland, officially the Swiss Confederation, is a federal republic in Europe. The country  is bordered by Italy to the south, France to the west, Germany to the north, and Austria and Liechtenstein to the east.
Policy Maker: Bundesamt für Kommunikation BAKOM
Spectrum Regulator: Eidgenössische Kommunikationskommission ComCom
Syria is a country in Western Asia, bordering Lebanon to the west, Turkey to the north, Iraq to the east, Jordan to the south, and Israel to the southwest.
Policy Maker: Ministry of Communications and Technology Syria
Spectrum Regulator: Syrian Telecommunication Regulatory Authority SyTRA
Taiwan is an island state in East Asia located approximately 180 km from the southeastern coast of mainland China. Its neighbours include China to the west, Japan to the northeast, and the Philippines to the south. Despite being mostly self-governing, China has consistently claimed sovereignty over Taiwan.
Policy Maker: Taiwan Ministry Of Transportation And Communications
Spectrum Regulator: National Communications Commission NCC
The United States of America (USA), commonly known as the United States (U.S. / US), is a federal republic composed of 50 states, five major self-governing territories, and various possessions. 
Policy Maker: International Communications and Information Policy CIP
Spectrum Regulator: Federal Communications Commission FCC