Countries & Nations

Explore Countries and Nations

Learn about telecommunications around the world. R-Spectrum has compiled extensive resources on companies, mobile networks, and regulatory information on almost every country in the world.

The global telecommunications industry is predominantly regulated by the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), a specialised agency of the United Nations. The ITU is tasked with facilitating international communication through the development of technical standards. The ITU tracks and benchmarks the progress of countries and promotes development in underserved communities worldwide.

It's important to note that R-Spectrum compiles research on a range of sovereign and disputed territories regardless of their geopolitical status. We endeavour to remain an impartial observer and defer to international guidance where possible.

Woman at airport travelling to countries
Indonesia is a transcontinental country located mainly in Southeast Asia, with some territories in Oceania. Situated between the Indian and Pacific oceans, it is the world's largest island country, with more than seventeen thousand islands.
Policy Maker: Ministry of Communication and Information - KemKominfo
Spectrum Regulator: Badan Regulasi Telekomunikasi Indonesia
Iran is a sovereign state in Western Asia. Iran is bordered to the northwest by Armenia, the de facto independent Republic of Artsakh, the Republic of Azerbaijan, and the Azerbaijani exclave of Nakhchivan; to the northeast by Turkmenistan; to the east by Afghanistan and Pakistan; and to the west by Turkey and Iraq.
Policy Maker: Ministry of Information & Communication Technology MICT
Spectrum Regulator: Communications Regulatory Authority CRA
Iraq is a country in Western Asia, bordered by Turkey to the north, Iran to the east, Kuwait to the southeast, Saudi Arabia to the south, Jordan to the southwest, and Syria to the west.
Policy Maker: Ministry of Communications Iraq
Spectrum Regulator: Communications and Media Commission CMC
Ireland is a sovereign state in north-western Europe occupying 26 of 32 counties of the island of Ireland. The state shares its only land border with Northern Ireland, a part of the United Kingdom.
Policy Maker: Department of Communications, Climate Action and Environment
Spectrum Regulator: Commission for Communications Regulation
The Isle of Man is a self-governing Crown dependency in the Irish Sea between the islands of Great Britain and Ireland. The jurisdiction is not part of the United Kingdom, although defence and most foreign relations are handled by the British Government.
Policy Maker: Office of Communications - Ofcom
Spectrum Regulator: Communications and Utilities Regulatory Authority CURA
Israel (יִשְׂרָאֵל‎), officially the State of Israel, is a country in the Middle East on the southeastern shore of the Mediterranean Sea and the northern shore of the Red Sea. It has land borders with Lebanon, Syria, Jordan, the Palestinian territories, and Egypt. The country also occupies the disputed territories of Golan Heights and East Jerusalem, with partial occupation of West Bank.
Policy Maker: Israel Ministry of Communications
Spectrum Regulator: Israel Ministry of Communications
Italy is ocated in the heart of the Mediterranean Sea, Italy shares open land borders with France, Switzerland, Austria, Slovenia, San Marino and Vatican City. The country consists of the entirety of the Italian Peninsula and the two Mediterranean islands of Sicily and Sardinia, in addition to many smaller islands.
Policy Maker: Italian Ministry of Economic Development
Spectrum Regulator: Autorità per le Garanzie nelle Comunicazioni AGCOM
Jamaica is an island country situated in the Caribbean Sea, consisting of the third-largest island of the Greater Antilles.
Policy Maker: Office of Utilities Regulation OUR
Spectrum Regulator: Spectrum Management Authority Jamaica
Japan is located in the Pacific Ocean, the country lies off the eastern coast of the Asian mainland and has a total of 6,852 islands extending along the Pacific coast.
Policy Maker: Global Strategy Bureau Japan
Spectrum Regulator: Radio Department, Telecommunications Bureau Japan
Jersey is a Crown dependency located near the coast of Normandy, France. The jurisdiction is not part of the United Kingdom, although defence and most foreign relations are handled by the British Government. Guernsey along with Jersey, form The Channel Islands.
Policy Maker: Office of Communications - Ofcom
Spectrum Regulator: Channel Islands Competition and Regulatory Authority CICRA
Jordan is an Arab kingdom in Western Asia, on the East Bank of the Jordan River. Jordan is bordered by Saudi Arabia to the east and south; Iraq to the north-east; Syria to the north; Israel and Palestine to the west.
Policy Maker: Jordanian Ministry of Information and Communications Technology
Spectrum Regulator: Jordanian Telecommunications Regulatory Commission TRC
Kazakhstan is the world's largest landlocked country, located in Central Asia. Kazakhstan shares borders with Russia, China, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, and Turkmenistan.
Policy Maker: Kazakh Ministry of Information and Communication MIC
Spectrum Regulator: Kazakh Ministry of Information and Communication MIC
Kenya is a country in East Africa. It is bordered by Tanzania to the south and southwest, Uganda to the west, South Sudan to the north-west, Ethiopia to the north and Somalia to the north-east.
Policy Maker: Kenyan Ministry of Information, Communications and Technology
Spectrum Regulator: Communications Authority of Kenya CA
Kiribati is a sovereign state in the central Pacific Ocean. The nation comprises 33 atolls and reef islands and one raised coral island, Banaba.
Policy Maker: Ministry of Information, Communication, Transport and Tourism Development
Spectrum Regulator: Communications Commission of Kiribati CCK
Kuwait is a country in Western Asia. Situated in the northern edge of Eastern Arabia at the tip of the Persian Gulf, it shares borders with Iraq and Saudi Arabia. Kuwait has nine islands, all of which, with the exception of Failaka Island, are uninhabited.
Policy Maker: Kuwait Ministry of Communications
Spectrum Regulator: Communication and Information Technology Regulatory Authority CITRA
Kyrgyzstan is a country in Central Asia. Kyrgyzstan is a landlocked country with mountainous terrain. It is bordered by Kazakhstan to the north, Uzbekistan to the west and southwest, Tajikistan to the southwest and China to the east. The village of Barak is the country's only exclave, surrounded by Uzbek territory, however there are four Uzbek and two Tajik enclaves within Kyrgyzstan.
Policy Maker: State Committee of Information Technologies and Communications
Spectrum Regulator: State Commission for Radio Frequencies
Laos is a landlocked country in the heart of the Indochinese peninsula of Mainland Southeast Asia, bordered by Myanmar (Burma) and China to the northwest, Vietnam to the east, Cambodia to the southwest, and Thailand to the west and southwest.
Policy Maker: Lao Ministry of Post and Telecommunications
Spectrum Regulator: Lao Ministry of Post and Telecommunications
Latvia is a country in the Baltic region of Northern Europe, one of the three Baltic states. It is bordered by Estonia to the north, Lithuania to the south, Russia to the east, and Belarus to the southeast.
Policy Maker: Latvia Public Utilities Commission
Spectrum Regulator: VAS Elektronisko sakaru direkcija
Lebanon is a sovereign state in Western Asia. It is bordered by Syria to the north and east and Israel to the south, while Cyprus is west across the Mediterranean Sea.
Policy Maker: Ministère des Télécommunications Lebanon
Spectrum Regulator: Telecommunications Regulatory Authority Lebanon